Sketch Dumps

This past week I’ve been doing a lot of drawing and preparing to work on the next Kaleidoscope short. For drawing I’m setting up challenges for myself where I try to sketch a pose for practice very quickly. I want to be able to establish the base of a picture faster, to illustrate faster. As such, there isn’t much to tell this week except that I went for a riding lesson this past Saturday and it was amazing. I’m still on a high feeling from it and I’ve been dreaming about riding again all week! I have a lot to practice, most especially find a way to take the shock of a seated trot and jog more into my legs than my low back. I also helped out with a trail ride or two, which was similar when I volunteered working with both horses and disabled individuals. That’s a possible topic for next week. I can describe that experience for you. What do you think?

In the mean tim, here’s a sketch dump for you!

to expand or zoom, click on the picture to go to the original post site

Sketch dumps are meant to be unfinished works and quick sketches compiled into one document. Each sketch above takes me about a minute to lay out and then I quickly move on to the next one. I can lay down basic movements and poses in about 30 seconds. When I’m working on a request or commission I’ll do a few sketches to warm up and then I’ll lay out multiple poses that are small like those above. Once I have several poses to choose between, I pick one and enlarge it and it’s from that I build a piece. I find this works better than drawing a pose and fleshing it out and then deciding halfway though that I really don’t like the pose. This is especially messy if more than one character is involved and even more so if there’s a background I’ve laid out. By doing this I avoid wasting too much time on a picture I end up throwing away and getting caught in a time sink. It takes lots of practice and I still stumble trying to figure everything out.

What did you get up to this week? Something exciting? Did you kick back and relax?

Until next week, happy trails!

3 thoughts on “Sketch Dumps

  1. You are so awesome! I don’t believe I have read through anything like that before. So wonderful to discover another person with original thoughts on this subject matter. Really.. many thanks for starting this up. This website is one thing that’s needed on
    the internet, someone with some originality!

    1. Thank you very much! I find a lot of time I spend drawing are original characters or random scenes. I can’t focus too well on fan art or fan fiction. Most of what I do seems to be inspired by spending time working with horses – even if what comes out of my inspiration has nothing to do with them. I’m glad you were able to stop by and leave a comment!

Leave a Reply

