The Heavenly Horse from the Outermost West

Hey guys and gals! I’ve been doing a ton of research and collecting references to ascertain how I should price digital print commissions. I’ve printed rates from artists who exhibit skill that I feel I am in the realm of and I will be comparing them to set up my own rates chart soon. Things are moving forward!

Anyways, recently I finished reading this book:

Heavenly Horse cover
The Heavenly Horse from the Outermost West by Mary Stanton

I found it online during a general search for horse books intending to read and learn how to write equine fiction better from it as I am developing my own equine-centralized book, Whisper of Winds. I did learn how to make quick references to key equine behavior and how to integrate useful information about horses in with the action and conversations, though the style in which the book is written is not what I leaning towards for Whisper of Winds. The theme and style of Mary Stanton’s book is directed much after Watership Down by Richard Adams, and while I have read his novel and admittedly enjoyed the storyline I did not feel fully engaged with the book itself. This seemed odd to me as I read and collected Mary Stanton’s other series, Unicorns of Balinor in elementary school and thoroughly enjoyed those (in fact I still have them in a storage container to take with me in an emergency). For my purposes the book served me well enough and I took notations of what I wanted to help improve Whisper of Winds.

That said I would recommend The Heavenly Horse from the Outermost West at least for a one time read, especially if you are looking for an equine book centered around balance, compromise, faith, and patience. The equines have their own theology, which is composed of founding stallions and mares who have laid down laws for them during their time in the world of men. Each member of the herd has a role and there is a chain of command which Duchess, the main characters, has a hard time accepting after the scarring events of her past. Duchess embarks on a journey where she has to learn to balance her insecurities of the past and accept faith and rely on her instincts to ensure her future. Learning to balance all of this she struggles to be patient with those she considers outsiders at first but eventually learns to accept them as friends along her travels. It is not an easy road as she is all that stands between balance and destruction of two great influential powers.

If you’d like to purchase my copy it will be up for sale on eBay along with other used books, games, and a collection of various other items. To find the listing on eBay, simply click on the image above to be linked directly or follow this link to where it will be available and relisted until sold.

Until next post, happy exploring!

Leave a Reply

