On Silence

My usual commute process for the past few years has included constantly playing music. Recently I’ve made the transitions from obsessively playing mostly dance music, to only instrumental music, to playing any music – to recently playing no music at all over the past three to four months.

The quiet was really loud.

Let me clarify: sometimes music helps me focus, sometimes it boosts my creative process and personal energy, but it seems that recently it’s just been noise that fills my head and leaves very little room for me to process as I usually do to balance. At first it was uncomfortable being washed over with everything I was putting off sorting through but as I made my way through the mess and resorted what I can only describe as endless boxes of content in my mind the silence turned from bombarding to calming.

I forced myself to keep the music silenced on my commute for about a month and I’ve noticed that, a little after welcoming a balancing and meditative silence, I’ve started humming several ‘older’ scores that have not come up on my playlist for a long time. Sometimes they were dance songs, sometimes they were instrumental pieces, sometimes they were cycles of my favorite songs. One thing was similar about them though: whatever I was humming at the moment coincided with whatever inspiration I was working my way through at that moment.

My suggestion to you for the next week is this: try going a whole day without listening to your regular music. What do you hear? What do you find yourself suddenly humming as you work, walk, read, sleep, etc?

What are your thoughts on the sound in your life?

Leave a Reply

